The Principality of Andorra,


The Principality of Andorra is a small country of 468 km 2, bordering France and Spain. Its capital is Andorra la Vella, consists of seven parishes that are Andorra la Vella, Escaldes, Encamp, Canillo, La Massana, Ordino and Sant Julia de Loria with a population of about 85,000 inhabitants.

It is a social and democratic state, with a head of government called “Govern cap” who is now Mr. Antoni Martí Petit and two co-princes, the French president, to date, Mr. HOLLAND and the Bishop of Urgel , now Joan Enric Vives i Sicilia .

Has no own armed forces and their defense is the responsibility of Spain and France.

Although not within the European Economic Community, Andorra, does not have its own currency and is using the Euro as official currency.

The official language is Catalan, but they also speak the Castilian spanish and French.

The Anthem of Andorra is called “the Great Charlemagne”.

Shopping is one of the main attractions Andorra along with skiing and mountain sports like hiking, via ferrata, activities such as quad, snowmobile …

The shops are open all year except on:

1st January: New Year

March 14: Andorran Constitution Day

September 8: Day of the patron saint of Andorra Meritxell

December 25: Christmas